Skip to content
Kingston upon Hull Counts — Kingston upon Hull, in numbers.Local help →

Kingston upon Hull · England

People and living standards

Kingston upon Hull, City of council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Kingston upon Hull, City of

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Kingston upon Hull, City of local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 263,331 in 1991 to 273,257 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Kingston upon Hull council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 264,715 people in 1996; 273,257 people in 2025. 3.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Kingston upon Hull council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991263,331
1992265,380
1993264,961
1994266,432
1995266,188
1996264,715
1997261,905
1998259,764
1999255,872
2000252,286
2001249,913
2002249,463
2003250,604
2004253,049
2005255,159
2006255,497
2007255,761
2008256,746
2009256,079
2010256,174
2011256,123
2012258,085
2013259,094
2014260,896
2015262,711
2016265,338
2017267,566
2018268,223
2019268,749
2020267,591
2021266,516
2022269,026
2023273,245
2024274,727
2025273,257
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Kingston upon Hull council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 58,148 people in 1996; 53,633 people in 2025. 7.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Kingston upon Hull council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,770
199257,322
199357,734
199458,612
199558,481
199658,148
199757,722
199857,121
199956,045
200054,492
200153,027
200251,683
200350,730
200450,177
200549,831
200649,327
200748,471
200848,247
200948,173
201047,962
201148,340
201248,972
201349,622
201450,193
201550,857
201651,929
201752,623
201853,072
201953,608
202053,440
202152,928
202253,447
202354,222
202454,344
202553,633
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Kingston upon Hull council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 167,287 people in 1996; 176,275 people in 2025. 5.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Kingston upon Hull council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991166,882
1992168,237
1993167,429
1994168,145
1995168,083
1996167,287
1997165,231
1998163,962
1999161,612
2000159,998
2001159,195
2002160,272
2003162,662
2004165,802
2005168,585
2006169,834
2007171,349
2008172,677
2009172,310
2010172,553
2011171,876
2012172,227
2013171,732
2014172,531
2015173,501
2016174,539
2017175,737
2018175,465
2019174,925
2020173,566
2021172,470
2022173,845
2023176,728
2024177,612
2025176,275
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Kingston upon Hull council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 39,280 people in 1996; 43,349 people in 2025. 10.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Kingston upon Hull council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,679
199239,821
199339,798
199439,675
199539,624
199639,280
199738,952
199838,681
199938,215
200037,796
200137,691
200237,508
200337,212
200437,070
200536,743
200636,336
200735,941
200835,822
200935,596
201035,659
201135,907
201236,886
201337,740
201438,172
201538,353
201638,870
201739,206
201839,686
201940,216
202040,585
202141,118
202241,734
202342,295
202442,771
202543,349
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 267,013 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kingston upon Hull, City of · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7,5152.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,0651.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,5131.7%
White244,98991.8%
Other ethnic group4,9311.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 256,406 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kingston upon Hull, City of · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White241,32194.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,4541.3%
Asian/Asian British6,4712.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,9961.2%
Other ethnic group2,1640.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 243,589 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kingston upon Hull, City of · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White237,93997.7%
Mixed1,6190.7%
Asian/Asian British1,9070.8%
Black/Black British8720.4%
Chinese/Other1,2520.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Kingston upon Hull council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,361 per person in 1997; £17,731 per person in 2024. 140.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Kingston upon Hull council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,361
19987,568
19998,107
20008,773
20019,286
20029,509
20039,653
20049,829
200510,012
200610,132
200710,545
200810,780
200911,288
201011,470
201111,789
201212,026
201312,156
201412,534
201512,919
201613,101
201713,476
201813,904
201914,300
202014,708
202115,214
202215,938
202316,735
202417,731
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Kingston upon Hull council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -30.6% in 1997; -31.7% in 2024. 1.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Kingston upon Hull council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-30.6
1998-30.1
1999-28.3
2000-26.3
2001-24.9
2002-24.8
2003-25.9
2004-27.6
2005-28.8
2006-30.8
2007-31.3
2008-31.5
2009-29.5
2010-29
2011-27.6
2012-28.8
2013-30.6
2014-30.7
2015-32.1
2016-32
2017-31.6
2018-31.9
2019-32.1
2020-29.9
2021-30.3
2022-30.6
2023-31.6
2024-31.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

24.7%

21 March 2021 · Kingston upon Hull, City of local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

25.3%

21 March 2021 · Kingston upon Hull, City of local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.8%

21 March 2021 · Kingston upon Hull, City of local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£136,000

July 2026 · Kingston upon Hull, City of local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£694

August 2026 · Kingston upon Hull, City of local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.