Skip to content
Canterbury Counts — Canterbury, in numbers.Local help →

Canterbury · England

Community life

Canterbury council area. Every figure carries its own date.

A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.

People aged 65 or over

21.8%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents

34,250 out of 157,429.

Source and method →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

8,036 out of 157,429.

Source and method →

Households facing at least one measured disadvantage

52.7%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

33,622 out of 63,792.

Source and method →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

17.8%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

11,328 out of 63,792.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

16.2%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

21,555 out of 132,775.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent

33.1%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

43,896 out of 132,775.

Source and method →

Different needs within the area

People reporting bad or very bad health

2.9% to 8.2%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 2.9% in Blean Forest to 8.2% in West Bay — a gap of 5.4 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 21 of 21 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Blean Forest2.9%28910,127
Barton3.9%50312,745
St Stephen's4.2%4209,999
Chartham & Stone Street4.3%3227,570
Tankerton4.3%1513,525
Westgate4.3%3979,191
Little Stour & Adisham4.3%1824,185
Nailbourne4.6%1793,915
Wincheap4.6%4319,426
Gorrell4.8%50510,625
Herne & Broomfield4.9%4378,985
Chestfield4.9%3507,138
Reculver5%2174,383
Seasalter5.3%4157,813
Beltinge5.8%4057,018
Sturry5.9%4888,219
Northgate6.8%4797,044
Heron6.9%92113,272
Greenhill7%2934,200
Swalecliffe8%3173,963
West Bay8.2%3364,085
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

10.4% to 37.2%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 10.4% in Northgate to 37.2% in Swalecliffe — a gap of 26.8 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 21 of 21 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Northgate10.4%7327,047
St Stephen's12.3%1,22710,000
Westgate13.7%1,2599,189
Barton14.5%1,85312,742
Blean Forest14.7%1,48610,128
Wincheap14.9%1,4059,426
Chartham & Stone Street20.2%1,5327,569
Gorrell22.2%2,35810,625
Herne & Broomfield22.3%2,0068,984
Sturry22.6%1,8558,217
Little Stour & Adisham24.4%1,0224,184
Heron25%3,32313,274
Greenhill25.2%1,0594,198
West Bay28%1,1434,088
Reculver29.6%1,2954,382
Nailbourne30%1,1773,917
Chestfield30.6%2,1877,139
Seasalter30.7%2,3997,813
Tankerton31.5%1,1113,528
Beltinge33.5%2,3507,019
Swalecliffe37.2%1,4723,961
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

6.9% to 24.4%

People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 6.9% in Blean Forest to 24.4% in Greenhill — a gap of 17.5 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 21 of 21 current wards with comparable figures.

Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 16+ with no qualifications · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Blean Forest6.9%6329,137
St Stephen's10.5%9078,626
Westgate11.7%9307,957
Barton12.7%1,35010,615
Little Stour & Adisham13%4503,459
Chartham & Stone Street13.1%7996,114
Tankerton14.8%4473,028
Wincheap15%1,1687,788
Nailbourne15.2%5083,340
Gorrell16%1,4078,798
Chestfield16.4%9876,035
Herne & Broomfield17.6%1,2777,271
Northgate17.6%1,0716,083
Seasalter19.3%1,2756,604
Beltinge20.5%1,2225,970
Sturry20.7%1,3856,690
Reculver20.8%7793,751
Heron22%2,44311,092
West Bay23.8%8173,440
Swalecliffe24.4%8533,502
Greenhill24.4%8483,473
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

11.4% to 29.3%

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 11.4% in Little Stour & Adisham to 29.3% in Northgate — a gap of 17.9 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 21 of 21 current wards with comparable figures.

These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Little Stour & Adisham11.4%1921,679
Nailbourne12.3%2041,653
Chestfield12.4%3783,047
Blean Forest12.8%2952,312
Chartham & Stone Street13.5%4083,017
Tankerton13.6%2201,619
Reculver15%2781,852
Herne & Broomfield15.5%5573,600
Seasalter16.1%5473,406
Westgate16.2%6704,132
Gorrell16.3%7764,767
Wincheap17%6403,770
Beltinge17.2%5293,075
St Stephen's18.3%6903,780
Sturry18.7%6283,358
Barton19.3%8814,571
Swalecliffe21.2%4111,939
Heron23.1%1,3996,061
West Bay23.3%4231,815
Greenhill25.2%4421,754
Northgate29.3%7592,588
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Local places and initiatives

Canterbury Castle, Castle Row and linked city-centre routes

Connected Canterbury: Castle and heritage routes

Repairs to the castle and better gardens, paths and signs aim to reconnect heritage sites with the city centre. Different parts of the programme finish at different times.

Castle stonework stabilised; landscaping completion unconfirmed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The council records castle stonework stabilisation completed in December 2025 and schedules the keep and grounds for late summer 2026. The reviewed page still uses future wording for reopening.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Levelling Up work and timescales →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn Canterbury’s strategy into a small deliverable programme →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Westgate Square, Dane John Gardens and story gardens

Connected Canterbury: squares and story gardens

Renewed squares and gardens give residents and visitors places to meet, move through and enjoy events. They form part of the wider heritage programme.

Transformed spaces reported; completion celebration announced · evidence dated 2026-03-27

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The council describes newly revitalised spaces and announces a 24 May celebration of the squares and gardens projects. This record does not treat that announcement as completion of all Connected Canterbury work.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

City festival celebrates completion of public spaces transformation →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Canterbury city centre

City Centre Strategy 2026–2043

The strategy tackles empty properties, difficult routes through the centre and the need to sustain shops, culture and learning. Individual projects still need selecting and costing.

Published strategic framework; project programme still to be developed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The strategy identifies the former Nason’s and Debenhams sites and fragmented connections. It explicitly says detailed costed projects are not set out, with an October 2026–April 2028 action plan to be developed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Canterbury City Centre Strategy 2026 to 2043 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn Canterbury’s strategy into a small deliverable programme →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Canterbury district, including Canterbury city, Whitstable, Herne Bay and rural areas

More suitable homes and less temporary accommodation

The district’s adopted housing strategy aims to improve council homes and reduce temporary placements away from the area. It sets a direction, not a completed building programme.

Housing strategy adopted; separate homelessness consultation closed · evidence dated 2026-06-30

Responsible body: Canterbury City Council

What the source says: The strategy records 186 households in temporary accommodation on 22 May 2026, including 87 outside the district (printed page 20). The separate homelessness strategy remained a draft on the reviewed consultation page, which closed on 2 September.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named site or council-wide remit is not proof of benefits to every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Housing Strategy 2026–2030, adopted 30 June 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Help households stay closer to their support networks →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Look beneath the area average →