People aged 65 or over
23.2%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
Show the workings
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents
27,272 out of 117,393.
Source and method →Bangor · Wales
Gwynedd council area. Every figure carries its own date.
A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.
People aged 65 or over
23.2%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents
27,272 out of 117,393.
Source and method →People reporting bad or very bad health
5.2%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised
6,065 out of 117,391.
Source and method →Households facing at least one measured disadvantage
50.4%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All households
25,744 out of 51,105.
Source and method →Households facing two or more measured disadvantages
17%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All households
8,704 out of 51,105.
Source and method →People aged 16+ with no qualifications
16.3%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
Residents aged 16 and over
15,937 out of 97,968.
Source and method →People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent
34.5%21 March 2021 · Gwynedd
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
Residents aged 16 and over
33,807 out of 97,968.
Source and method →People reporting bad or very bad health
People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 2% in Llanuwchllyn to 9.9% in Canol Tref Caernarfon — a gap of 7.9 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 65 of 65 current wards with comparable figures.
Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Llanuwchllyn | 2% | 21 | 1,057 |
| Pen draw Llŷn | 3.2% | 60 | 1,879 |
| Dwyrain Porthmadog | 3.3% | 57 | 1,728 |
| Canol Bangor | 3.4% | 227 | 6,708 |
| Efailnewydd a Buan | 3.4% | 44 | 1,295 |
| Llanwnda | 3.4% | 49 | 1,422 |
| Llanystumdwy | 3.5% | 68 | 1,916 |
| Cwm-y-glo | 3.6% | 45 | 1,267 |
| Dewi | 3.6% | 72 | 2,001 |
| Morfa Nefyn a Thudweiliog | 3.8% | 79 | 2,099 |
| Bethel a'r Felinheli | 4% | 146 | 3,644 |
| Y Bontnewydd | 4.1% | 51 | 1,251 |
| Tre-garth a Mynydd Llandygái | 4.1% | 87 | 2,122 |
| Rachub | 4.1% | 50 | 1,218 |
| Llanrug | 4.2% | 76 | 1,827 |
| Waunfawr | 4.2% | 61 | 1,461 |
| Y Bala | 4.3% | 85 | 1,992 |
| Y Groeslon | 4.3% | 72 | 1,666 |
| Penisa'r-waun | 4.3% | 59 | 1,359 |
| Y Faenol | 4.4% | 113 | 2,589 |
| Aberdyfi | 4.4% | 45 | 1,016 |
| Glaslyn | 4.5% | 73 | 1,633 |
| Gerlan | 4.5% | 74 | 1,655 |
| Brithdir and Llanfachreth/Ganllwyd/Llanelltyd | 4.6% | 64 | 1,382 |
| Trawsfynydd | 4.8% | 68 | 1,416 |
| Llandderfel | 4.8% | 66 | 1,374 |
| Menai | 4.8% | 96 | 1,993 |
| Gogledd Dolgellau | 4.8% | 57 | 1,182 |
| Arllechwedd | 4.9% | 96 | 1,949 |
| Hendre | 4.9% | 91 | 1,844 |
| Canol Bethesda | 5% | 89 | 1,777 |
| Abererch | 5% | 64 | 1,270 |
| Glyder | 5.1% | 85 | 1,675 |
| Llanberis | 5.1% | 102 | 2,008 |
| Penrhyndeudraeth | 5.1% | 101 | 1,987 |
| Llanbedrog gyda Mynytho | 5.2% | 72 | 1,397 |
| Clynnog | 5.2% | 68 | 1,298 |
| Gogledd Pwllheli | 5.4% | 113 | 2,088 |
| Corris a Mawddwy | 5.4% | 68 | 1,255 |
| Deiniolen | 5.4% | 103 | 1,896 |
| Peblig | 5.5% | 153 | 2,759 |
| De Dolgellau | 5.6% | 80 | 1,418 |
| Bowydd a'r Rhiw | 5.7% | 101 | 1,779 |
| Abersoch gyda Llanengan | 5.8% | 66 | 1,129 |
| Dolbenmaen | 6% | 70 | 1,174 |
| Cadnant | 6% | 100 | 1,659 |
| Nefyn | 6.1% | 78 | 1,289 |
| Dyffryn Ardudwy | 6.1% | 89 | 1,466 |
| Teigl | 6.1% | 77 | 1,262 |
| Bro Dysynni | 6.1% | 73 | 1,192 |
| Abermaw | 6.2% | 133 | 2,146 |
| Diffwys a Maenofferen | 6.3% | 102 | 1,624 |
| Dwyrain Bangor | 6.3% | 294 | 4,675 |
| Pen-y-groes | 6.4% | 115 | 1,794 |
| Llanllyfni | 6.5% | 127 | 1,957 |
| Harlech a Llanbedr | 6.7% | 182 | 2,716 |
| Gorllewin Porthmadog | 6.8% | 102 | 1,505 |
| Arthog a Llangelynnin | 6.9% | 111 | 1,618 |
| Gorllewin Tywyn | 6.9% | 86 | 1,253 |
| Yr Eifl | 6.9% | 108 | 1,559 |
| De Pwllheli | 7.1% | 132 | 1,860 |
| Tryfan | 7.2% | 110 | 1,521 |
| Criccieth | 7.9% | 138 | 1,737 |
| Morfa Tywyn | 8.2% | 154 | 1,880 |
| Canol Tref Caernarfon | 9.9% | 181 | 1,830 |
People aged 65 or over
People aged 65 or over ranged from 8.2% in Canol Bangor to 44.1% in Gorllewin Porthmadog — a gap of 35.9 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 65 of 65 current wards with comparable figures.
Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canol Bangor | 8.2% | 553 | 6,710 |
| Peblig | 11.4% | 316 | 2,760 |
| Dwyrain Bangor | 11.9% | 558 | 4,674 |
| Dewi | 13.3% | 267 | 2,002 |
| Gerlan | 14.9% | 246 | 1,655 |
| Deiniolen | 17.5% | 332 | 1,899 |
| Bowydd a'r Rhiw | 18% | 320 | 1,778 |
| Rachub | 18.2% | 222 | 1,218 |
| Canol Bethesda | 18.3% | 326 | 1,777 |
| Llanllyfni | 19% | 372 | 1,955 |
| Y Faenol | 19.3% | 498 | 2,586 |
| Tryfan | 19.9% | 302 | 1,521 |
| Tre-garth a Mynydd Llandygái | 19.9% | 422 | 2,121 |
| Glyder | 19.9% | 334 | 1,676 |
| Llanberis | 20% | 402 | 2,008 |
| Cadnant | 20.4% | 338 | 1,659 |
| Hendre | 20.7% | 382 | 1,844 |
| Cwm-y-glo | 20.9% | 265 | 1,267 |
| Penisa'r-waun | 21.5% | 291 | 1,356 |
| Bethel a'r Felinheli | 21.5% | 784 | 3,645 |
| Llanuwchllyn | 21.7% | 230 | 1,058 |
| Llanrug | 22% | 403 | 1,828 |
| Waunfawr | 22.1% | 323 | 1,461 |
| Llanwnda | 22.1% | 315 | 1,423 |
| Dwyrain Porthmadog | 22.4% | 387 | 1,728 |
| Gogledd Pwllheli | 22.8% | 477 | 2,088 |
| Penrhyndeudraeth | 22.9% | 455 | 1,986 |
| Canol Tref Caernarfon | 23.3% | 424 | 1,822 |
| Y Bala | 23.3% | 464 | 1,990 |
| De Pwllheli | 23.3% | 434 | 1,860 |
| Teigl | 23.4% | 297 | 1,269 |
| Pen-y-groes | 23.6% | 421 | 1,787 |
| Arllechwedd | 23.6% | 459 | 1,948 |
| Diffwys a Maenofferen | 23.7% | 386 | 1,628 |
| Yr Eifl | 24% | 374 | 1,556 |
| Clynnog | 24.2% | 315 | 1,301 |
| Llandderfel | 24.4% | 336 | 1,377 |
| De Dolgellau | 25.5% | 362 | 1,420 |
| Trawsfynydd | 25.5% | 362 | 1,417 |
| Efailnewydd a Buan | 25.6% | 333 | 1,300 |
| Llanystumdwy | 25.7% | 494 | 1,920 |
| Y Bontnewydd | 25.8% | 324 | 1,254 |
| Abermaw | 25.9% | 555 | 2,142 |
| Corris a Mawddwy | 26% | 326 | 1,256 |
| Morfa Nefyn a Thudweiliog | 26.1% | 549 | 2,102 |
| Y Groeslon | 26.1% | 435 | 1,665 |
| Gogledd Dolgellau | 26.8% | 316 | 1,181 |
| Nefyn | 26.9% | 347 | 1,290 |
| Pen draw Llŷn | 27.2% | 510 | 1,874 |
| Abererch | 27.6% | 350 | 1,268 |
| Glaslyn | 28.1% | 459 | 1,633 |
| Menai | 30.4% | 606 | 1,994 |
| Bro Dysynni | 30.4% | 362 | 1,190 |
| Abersoch gyda Llanengan | 31.2% | 352 | 1,128 |
| Llanbedrog gyda Mynytho | 31.7% | 441 | 1,392 |
| Brithdir and Llanfachreth/Ganllwyd/Llanelltyd | 32.6% | 450 | 1,381 |
| Dolbenmaen | 33.4% | 391 | 1,171 |
| Harlech a Llanbedr | 35.4% | 961 | 2,716 |
| Aberdyfi | 35.6% | 361 | 1,014 |
| Gorllewin Tywyn | 35.7% | 446 | 1,250 |
| Morfa Tywyn | 35.7% | 671 | 1,879 |
| Arthog a Llangelynnin | 37.3% | 602 | 1,613 |
| Criccieth | 37.5% | 651 | 1,737 |
| Dyffryn Ardudwy | 37.8% | 555 | 1,468 |
| Gorllewin Porthmadog | 44.1% | 665 | 1,507 |
People aged 16+ with no qualifications
People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 7.1% in Canol Bangor to 26.2% in Peblig — a gap of 19.1 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 65 of 65 current wards with comparable figures.
Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canol Bangor | 7.1% | 449 | 6,291 |
| Cwm-y-glo | 9.6% | 104 | 1,086 |
| Y Faenol | 11% | 228 | 2,065 |
| Tre-garth a Mynydd Llandygái | 11.2% | 195 | 1,747 |
| Penisa'r-waun | 11.6% | 129 | 1,113 |
| Llanwnda | 11.8% | 135 | 1,140 |
| Glyder | 12.4% | 171 | 1,377 |
| Penrhyndeudraeth | 12.6% | 209 | 1,659 |
| Menai | 12.9% | 219 | 1,693 |
| Y Groeslon | 13% | 182 | 1,401 |
| Arllechwedd | 13.1% | 216 | 1,648 |
| Bethel a'r Felinheli | 13.2% | 395 | 2,996 |
| Llanystumdwy | 13.3% | 216 | 1,622 |
| Gerlan | 13.3% | 177 | 1,326 |
| Y Bontnewydd | 13.9% | 150 | 1,079 |
| Waunfawr | 14% | 165 | 1,181 |
| Llanuwchllyn | 14.1% | 119 | 844 |
| Llanberis | 14.2% | 238 | 1,678 |
| Rachub | 14.2% | 140 | 984 |
| Gogledd Dolgellau | 14.3% | 147 | 1,025 |
| Clynnog | 14.4% | 156 | 1,087 |
| Aberdyfi | 14.9% | 138 | 927 |
| Bowydd a'r Rhiw | 14.9% | 206 | 1,380 |
| Deiniolen | 15% | 228 | 1,523 |
| Glaslyn | 15.2% | 207 | 1,361 |
| Llanrug | 15.3% | 224 | 1,462 |
| Corris a Mawddwy | 15.5% | 171 | 1,101 |
| Brithdir and Llanfachreth/Ganllwyd/Llanelltyd | 15.6% | 188 | 1,205 |
| Dolbenmaen | 15.6% | 154 | 986 |
| Tryfan | 15.8% | 191 | 1,211 |
| Dewi | 15.8% | 244 | 1,542 |
| Abererch | 16% | 168 | 1,053 |
| Abersoch gyda Llanengan | 16.6% | 165 | 996 |
| Criccieth | 17% | 252 | 1,485 |
| Harlech a Llanbedr | 17% | 405 | 2,379 |
| Efailnewydd a Buan | 17.1% | 186 | 1,086 |
| Bro Dysynni | 17.3% | 182 | 1,050 |
| Teigl | 17.9% | 188 | 1,048 |
| Llanbedrog gyda Mynytho | 17.9% | 211 | 1,176 |
| Canol Tref Caernarfon | 18% | 284 | 1,580 |
| Gorllewin Porthmadog | 18% | 247 | 1,372 |
| Dwyrain Bangor | 18.2% | 697 | 3,833 |
| Yr Eifl | 18.5% | 239 | 1,293 |
| Abermaw | 18.5% | 330 | 1,779 |
| Llanllyfni | 18.6% | 282 | 1,515 |
| Dwyrain Porthmadog | 18.6% | 259 | 1,391 |
| Trawsfynydd | 18.8% | 228 | 1,210 |
| Morfa Nefyn a Thudweiliog | 19.1% | 330 | 1,729 |
| Llandderfel | 19.2% | 220 | 1,143 |
| Arthog a Llangelynnin | 19.5% | 280 | 1,439 |
| Nefyn | 19.5% | 208 | 1,068 |
| Canol Bethesda | 19.8% | 280 | 1,414 |
| De Dolgellau | 19.9% | 238 | 1,197 |
| Diffwys a Maenofferen | 20.2% | 270 | 1,338 |
| Dyffryn Ardudwy | 20.2% | 256 | 1,265 |
| Pen draw Llŷn | 20.4% | 317 | 1,555 |
| Hendre | 20.5% | 300 | 1,463 |
| Morfa Tywyn | 20.8% | 340 | 1,634 |
| Y Bala | 21.1% | 347 | 1,646 |
| Pen-y-groes | 21.2% | 309 | 1,456 |
| De Pwllheli | 21.8% | 327 | 1,497 |
| Gorllewin Tywyn | 22.5% | 240 | 1,067 |
| Gogledd Pwllheli | 22.6% | 398 | 1,762 |
| Cadnant | 25.6% | 330 | 1,291 |
| Peblig | 26.2% | 532 | 2,027 |
Households facing two or more measured disadvantages
Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 10% in Llanuwchllyn to 25.2% in Peblig — a gap of 15.2 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 65 of 65 current wards with comparable figures.
These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
Bangor High Street
A proposed High Street hub would move some services from Ysbyty Gwynedd into an empty city-centre unit.
Planning proposal; approval and delivery not confirmed · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Cyngor Gwynedd, Welsh Government and Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
What the source says: The council describes the hub as being in the planning phase and makes delivery conditional on approval.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Make the High Street a useful place for everyday services →
Plan homes and care around an older population →
Bring support closer to people in poor health →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Bangor High Street
A former High Street shop has been converted for adult learning and community support.
Conversion reported complete; services described as available · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Grŵp Llandrillo Menai
What the source says: The council records the former Topshop building being transformed into Tŷ Cyfle; no measured jobs or wellbeing outcome is claimed here.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Make the High Street a useful place for everyday services →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →137 High Street and 35 College Road, Bangor
People had moved into 137 High Street, with accommodation for 12 individuals. Work at 35 College Road was complete, but occupation there had not yet been confirmed in the March 2026 review.
High Street occupied; College Road building work complete at the March 2026 review · evidence dated 2026-03-31
Responsible body: Cyngor Gwynedd
What the source says: The report discussed in June distinguishes residents already living at High Street from the expectation of later occupation at College Road. Its wider homelessness pressures concern Gwynedd as a whole, not a Bangor-only count.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Housing and Property performance report: progress to March 2026 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Make temporary housing usable, with a route to a settled home →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Plan homes and care around an older population →
Bring support closer to people in poor health →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →