Skip to content
Westminster Counts — Westminster, in numbers.Local help →

Westminster · England

People and living standards

Westminster council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Westminster

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Westminster local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 185,032 in 1991 to 212,367 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Westminster council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 178,498 people in 1996; 212,367 people in 2025. 19% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Westminster council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991185,032
1992180,974
1993176,879
1994174,076
1995174,220
1996178,498
1997181,841
1998184,652
1999189,233
2000196,478
2001203,329
2002208,100
2003211,009
2004214,557
2005223,132
2006222,829
2007220,619
2008218,673
2009216,980
2010217,187
2011219,582
2012219,539
2013215,907
2014214,341
2015215,876
2016213,193
2017210,459
2018209,868
2019208,415
2020205,624
2021205,759
2022213,009
2023216,343
2024215,694
2025212,367
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Westminster council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,610 people in 1996; 24,142 people in 2025. 1.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Westminster council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,350
199225,005
199324,366
199423,959
199523,759
199624,610
199725,038
199825,177
199926,081
200026,379
200126,952
200227,136
200327,533
200427,970
200528,592
200628,943
200729,663
200830,079
200930,716
201031,929
201132,770
201233,062
201332,614
201431,804
201531,424
201630,848
201730,292
201829,914
201929,084
202028,013
202126,802
202226,458
202325,921
202425,233
202524,142
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Westminster council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 128,524 people in 1996; 160,582 people in 2025. 24.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Westminster council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991132,631
1992129,261
1993126,140
1994124,184
1995124,870
1996128,524
1997131,637
1998134,447
1999138,516
2000145,521
2001151,757
2002156,435
2003158,981
2004162,312
2005170,261
2006169,645
2007166,837
2008164,404
2009161,916
2010160,809
2011162,189
2012161,653
2013158,318
2014157,278
2015159,341
2016157,442
2017155,088
2018154,896
2019154,209
2020152,595
2021153,948
2022161,058
2023164,295
2024163,676
2025160,582
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Westminster council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,364 people in 1996; 27,643 people in 2025. 9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Westminster council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,051
199226,708
199326,373
199425,933
199525,591
199625,364
199725,166
199825,028
199924,636
200024,578
200124,620
200224,529
200324,495
200424,275
200524,279
200624,241
200724,119
200824,190
200924,348
201024,449
201124,623
201224,824
201324,975
201425,259
201525,111
201624,903
201725,079
201825,058
201925,122
202025,016
202125,009
202225,493
202326,127
202426,785
202527,643
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 204,236 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Westminster · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh34,24216.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African16,4568.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups13,3356.5%
White112,73255.2%
Other ethnic group27,47113.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 219,396 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Westminster · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White135,33061.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups11,3955.2%
Asian/Asian British31,86214.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British16,4727.5%
Other ethnic group24,33711.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 181,286 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Westminster · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White132,71573.2%
Mixed7,4804.1%
Asian/Asian British16,1078.9%
Black/Black British13,4817.4%
Chinese/Other11,5036.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 217.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Westminster council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £21,204 per person in 1997; £82,503 per person in 2024. 289.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Westminster council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199721,204
199822,100
199924,051
200025,928
200126,319
200225,958
200326,698
200428,608
200530,790
200633,844
200738,044
200840,956
200941,477
201041,259
201140,075
201244,167
201349,680
201453,584
201558,860
201661,574
201763,074
201866,342
201967,353
202064,624
202168,305
202271,543
202377,109
202482,503
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Westminster council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 99.8% in 1997; 217.7% in 2024. 117.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Westminster council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199799.8
1998104.1
1999112.6
2000117.8
2001112.7
2002105.2
2003104.8
2004110.8
2005119
2006131.1
2007147.9
2008160.1
2009159
2010155.5
2011146
2012161.5
2013183.6
2014196.3
2015209.4
2016219.8
2017220.2
2018225
2019219.6
2020207.9
2021212.7
2022211.6
2023215.4
2024217.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Westminster local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.9%

21 March 2021 · Westminster local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Westminster local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£877,000

July 2026 · Westminster local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£3,196

August 2026 · Westminster local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.