Skip to content
Aberdeen Counts — Aberdeen, in numbers.Local help →

Aberdeen · Scotland

People and living standards

Aberdeen City council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Aberdeen City

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Aberdeen City local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 214,120 in 1991 to 230,180 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Aberdeen City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 218,350 people in 1996; 230,180 people in 2025. 5.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Aberdeen City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991214,120
1992216,140
1993218,250
1994219,500
1995219,880
1996218,350
1997217,300
1998215,650
1999214,630
2000213,340
2001211,910
2002210,680
2003209,280
2004207,820
2005208,690
2006209,630
2007212,470
2008214,020
2009217,020
2010219,730
2011222,460
2012224,040
2013225,260
2014226,170
2015226,680
2016225,340
2017223,890
2018222,170
2019222,760
2020222,710
2021220,630
2022224,250
2023230,150
2024231,320
2025230,180
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Aberdeen City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 38,291 people in 1996; 36,217 people in 2025. 5.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Aberdeen City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199137,509
199238,324
199339,007
199439,469
199539,271
199638,291
199737,605
199836,803
199936,174
200035,672
200134,690
200234,167
200333,631
200432,850
200532,455
200632,225
200732,263
200832,249
200932,171
201032,382
201132,232
201232,905
201333,256
201433,917
201534,205
201634,453
201734,553
201834,563
201934,406
202034,388
202134,479
202235,455
202336,884
202436,909
202536,217
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Aberdeen City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 148,184 people in 1996; 153,190 people in 2025. 3.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Aberdeen City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,243
1992146,204
1993147,547
1994148,322
1995148,724
1996148,184
1997147,665
1998146,673
1999146,182
2000145,302
2001144,778
2002144,123
2003143,332
2004142,686
2005143,912
2006145,188
2007148,037
2008149,671
2009152,776
2010155,364
2011157,979
2012157,941
2013158,202
2014157,860
2015157,880
2016155,824
2017153,797
2018151,806
2019151,882
2020151,316
2021148,384
2022150,356
2023154,019
2024154,374
2025153,190
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Aberdeen City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 31,875 people in 1996; 40,773 people in 2025. 27.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Aberdeen City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,368
199231,612
199331,696
199431,709
199531,885
199631,875
199732,030
199832,174
199932,274
200032,366
200132,442
200232,390
200332,317
200432,284
200532,323
200632,217
200732,170
200832,100
200932,073
201031,984
201132,249
201233,194
201333,802
201434,393
201534,595
201635,063
201735,540
201835,801
201936,472
202037,006
202137,767
202238,439
202339,247
202440,037
202540,773
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 224,015 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Aberdeen City · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total193,93486.6%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 222,793 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Aberdeen City · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White204,43691.8%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller2790.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group1,4880.7%
Asian / Asian British: Indian3,3841.5%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1,0420.5%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi5870.3%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2,1871%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian2,3191%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British5,6302.5%
Other Ethnic Group1,4410.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Aberdeen City council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,167 per person in 1997; £23,466 per person in 2024. 130.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Aberdeen City council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,167
199810,352
199910,341
200011,031
200111,758
200212,224
200312,644
200413,822
200514,742
200615,597
200716,574
200817,352
200917,739
201017,985
201118,716
201219,526
201320,725
201421,354
201521,311
201620,448
201720,538
201820,636
201921,160
202020,444
202120,741
202221,280
202322,218
202423,466
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Aberdeen City council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -4.2% in 1997; -9.6% in 2024. 5.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Aberdeen City council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-4.2
1998-4.4
1999-8.6
2000-7.3
2001-5
2002-3.4
2003-3
20041.8
20054.9
20066.5
20078
200810.2
200910.8
201011.4
201114.9
201215.6
201318.3
201418.1
201512
20166.2
20174.2
20181.1
20190.4
2020-2.6
2021-5
2022-7.3
2023-9.1
2024-9.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Aberdeen City local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Aberdeen City local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£131,000

July 2026 · Aberdeen City local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.